Listen Live
97.9 The Box Featured Video

Via Eurweb:

Jamie Foxx has been tapped to host the posthumous induction of Michael Jackson — along with Queen of Soul Aretha Franklin — into the Apollo Legends Hall of Fame at the Apollo Theatre’s Annual Spring Benefit on June 14.

Jennifer Lopez and husband Marc Anthony with be presented with the Ruby Dee & Ossie Davis Arts and Humanitarian Award during the ceremony, according to organizers.

The gala will kick off at 6:30 p.m. with a red carpet event and the awards ceremony will begin at 7:00 p.m. closing the night with a tented after-party at the Apollo Supper Club.

Past inductees into the Apollo Legends Hall of Fame include Quincy Jones, Patti Labelle, Smokey Robinson, James Brown, Gladys Knight and the Pips, Little Richard, and Ella Fitzgerald.

Jackson’s first Apollo experience was an Amateur Night victory in 1967 along with his brothers as the Jackson 5. The group’s performance caught the eye of Gladys Knight who spoke of the act to Motown head Berry Gordy. By the following year they would be signed to Motown.