Leave a comment







Jay Z and Beyonce are topping the nominations leader board for the 2014 BET Awards.  The music power couple share a three-way tie for the most nominations with rapper Drake, each snagging five nominations a piece.  The June 29th ceremony will also celebrate talent in film and sports.  Forest Whitaker, Idris Elba, Oprah Winfrey, and Oscar winner Lupita Nyong’o [[loo-pee-tah en-yung-oh]] are among the nominees in the acting categories.  And LeBron James, Blake Griffin and Venus and Serena Williams are among the athletes vying for wins in the sports category.  The BET Awards will be presented June 29th at the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles Hosted By Chris Rock..  BET will air the ceremony live. 

Here is the list of nominees for the 2014 BET Awards: 

Best Female R&B/Pop Artist 

Janelle Monáe 
Jhené Aiko 
K. Michelle 
Tamar Braxton 

Best Male R&B/Pop Artist 

August Alsina 
Chris Brown 
John Legend 
Justin Timberlake 
Pharrell Williams 

Best Group 

A$AP Mob 
Daft Punk 
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis 
Young Money 

Best Collaboration 

August Alsina f/ Trinidad Jame$ – “I Luv This” 
Beyoncé f/ JAY Z – “Drunk In Love ” 
Drake f/ Majid Jordan – “Hold On (We’re Going Home)” 
JAY Z f/ Justin Timberlake – “Holy Grail” 
Robin Thicke f/ T.I. & Pharrell Williams – “Blurred Lines” 
YG f/ Jeezy & Rich Homie Quan – “My Hitta” 

Best Male Hip Hop Artist 

J. Cole 
Kendrick Lamar 

Best Female Hip Hop Artist 

Angel Haze 
Charli Baltimore 
Iggy Azalea 
Nicki Minaj 

Video of the Year 

Beyoncé – “Partition” 
Beyoncé f/ JAY Z – “Drunk In Love” 
Chris Brown – “Fine China” 
Drake –  “Worst Behavior” 
Pharrell Williams –  “Happy” 

Video Director of the Year 

Benny Boom 
Chris Brown 
Colin Tilley 
Director X 
Hype Williams 

Best New Artist 

Ariana Grande 
August Alsina 
Mack Wilds 
Rich Homie Quan 
ScHoolboy Q 

Best Gospel Artist 

Donnie McClurkin 
Erica Campbell 
Hezekiah Walker 
Tamela Mann 
Tye Tribbett 

Best Actress 

Angela Bassett 
Gabrielle Union 
Kerry Washington 
Lupita Nyong’o 
Oprah Winfrey 

Best Actor 

Chiwetel Ejiofor 
Forest Whitaker 
Idris Elba 
Kevin Hart 
Michael B. Jordan 

YoungStars Award 

Gabrielle Douglas 
Jacob Latimore 
Jaden Smith 
KeKe Palmer 

Best Movie 

12 Years a Slave 
The Best Man Holiday 
Fruitvale Station 
Kevin Hart: Let Me Explain 
Lee Daniels’ The Butler 

Subway Sportswoman of the Year 

Brittney Griner 
Lolo Jones 
Serena Williams 
Skylar Diggins 
Venus Williams 

Subway Sportsman of the Year 

Blake Griffin 
Carmelo Anthony 
Floyd Mayweather Jr. 
Kevin Durant 
LeBron James 

Centric Award 

Aloe Blacc – “The Man” 
Jennifer Hudson f/ T.I. – “I Can’t Describe (The Way I Feel)” 
Jhené Aiko – “The Worst” 
LiV Warfield – “Why Do You Lie?” 
Wale f/ Sam Dew – “LoveHate Thing” 

Best International Act: Africa 

Davido (Nigeria) 
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania) 
Mafikizolo (South Africa) 
Sarkodie (Ghana) 
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) Toofan (Togo) 

Best International Act: UK 

Dizzee Rascal 
Krept & Konan 
Laura Mvula 
Rita Ora 
Tinie Tempah 

Also On 97.9 The Box:
comments – Add Yours